Eden Coffee – review

image 2 image

781-785 Elizabeth St, Zetland

As I live in Zetland, Eden Coffee is my local cafe – although I’m not a coffee drinker (don’t judge me please) I absolutely adore the food – it’s fresh and seasonal with generous helpings and just delish!

The theme of the cafe is the ‘Garden of Eden’ from the bible – this theme is present in many of the dishes on the menu, and of course the coffee “Adam’s Brew” and “Eve’s Blend”.

The decor is leaning on the industrial look with graffiti art on the walls, very spacious, industrial looking lights and brick interior. There are many seating options which is great (especially with children), and the outdoor setting is lovely in the sun on a weekend.

My boyfriend is a creature of habit and once he finds something on the menu he likes, he orders it every time. I must agree with him though that the ‘open club s/w on sourdough’ is amazing! It is basically a delicious BLT upgraded to the max with succulent chicken, avocado and yummy herbed aioli. This sandwich has such simple ingredients and flavours which work perfectly – plus he does like his large portions and he always comes away feeling satisfied.

I’ve had the ‘pulled lamb open s/w’ twice now, and it’s divine – the lamb is very generous and cooked to perfection. The combination of the meat with feta, red onion, spinach and kale pesto is mouth-watering! I’d never had kale pesto before and I’ve definitely come away inspired to make it.

The breakfast is all day with a selection of delicious dishes which cater for vegans, vegetarians and there are many gluten-free options available.

I like the fact that Eden isn’t trying to be “too cool” – they simply have good, seasonal cafe style food in an urban environment. I’d definitely recommend the ‘Eve’ brekkie too – it’s my favourite!

I rate Eden Coffee 4/5.

Happy eating, love Jem x

Leave a Reply

