Buttermilk pancakes

image

Who doesn’t love waking up on a Sunday to a batch of hot, freshly made pancakes? I know I do! Pancakes are a huge weakness of mine – pancakes with bacon, maple syrup and ice-cream is pretty much the best meal ever invented (I did mention I have a sweet tooth right?) but nothing beats pancakes with a good ol’ squeeze of lemon and brown sugar. I’ve been playing around with pancake batters lately – I find using buttermilk adds a whole new depth and creamy flavour which I love! I woke up on the weekend to find we had no eggs in the fridge (this upset me quite me a lot) I’d never made pancakes without them, but was determined on getting my sweet fix so I attempted the impossible. The trick is to add more liquid to the mixture, so in this case buttermilk. Guess what? They were delicious!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup plain flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp baking soda, sifted
  • 3 heaped tsp brown sugar
  • 1 1/8 cups buttermilk
  • 2 tbl butter, soft
  • lemon wedges and brown sugar to serve

Makes 15 small pancakes

Method

Mix the flour, baking soda and sugar together in a bowl. Add the buttermilk, and butter then stir together lightly. The batter should look quite thick and spongy.

Drop about 3 heaped tablespoons of the batter onto a low-medium heated and greased pan. Cook until lightly-browned on each side, 1 to 2 minutes per side. (You can probably fit about three pancakes in the pan each time). Repeat the cooking process and keep pancakes warm in the oven on a low heat.

Serve with lemon and brown sugar, and enjoy your lovely delicious start to the day!

Happy cooking, love Jem x

3 thoughts on “Buttermilk pancakes

Leave a Reply

